View single post by lobo316
 Posted: Fri Jul 19th, 2013 05:58 pm
PM Quote Reply Full Topic

Joined: Sun Oct 14th, 2007
Location: Raptorville
Posts: 45462
The NHL is realigning for the 2013-14 season, and with a six-division league being trimmed down to four divisions, the league had to make changes to those division names. After much speculation, the four division names will keep a geographical bent ... sort of.

The Pacific, Central and Atlantic Divisions are all traditional and what we're used to, but Metropolitan Division is a bit of a curveball. Indeed, the three New York-area teams are in a metropolitan area ... and uh, I guess maybe you could lump Philadelphia in there too. Washington if you're pushing it. But Columbus, Pittsburgh and Carolina are in no way in the same metropolitan area, so it's a bit weird and a lot of people will make jokes about it.

The NHL had a tough problem to solve in naming the four divisions, especially since they've been set on using geographically-based names. Florida and Tampa Bay in a division with Boston and Montreal, for example, makes it hard to create a division name based on geography. This is apparently their solution.