View single post by lobo316
 Posted: Thu Nov 14th, 2013 10:43 pm
PM Quote Reply Full Topic

Joined: Sun Oct 14th, 2007
Location: Raptorville
Posts: 44282
NEW YORK -- Detroit Tigers slugger Miguel Cabrera has won the American League Most Valuable Player Award for the second straight year.

Cabrera won by a comfortable margin Thursday, getting 23 of 30 first-place votes from members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Angels outfielder Mike Trout was second -- again -- and Baltimore star Chris Davis finished third.

Cabrera became the first player to win two consecutive AL MVPs since Frank Thomas for the White Sox in 1993 and 1994. Albert Pujols won the NL MVP in 2008 and 2009.

Cabrera led the majors in hitting at .348 and took his third AL batting title in a row. The Venezuelan third baseman hit 44 home runs and had 137 RBIs, both second in baseball to Davis.

The 30-year-old Cabrera also topped the majors in on-base percentage and slugging.

Cabrera easily captured the AL MVP last year when he won the Triple Crown while hitting .330 with 44 homers and 139 RBIs.