View single post by lobo316
 Posted: Sun Oct 30th, 2016 06:51 am
PM Quote Reply Full Topic

Joined: Sun Oct 14th, 2007
Location: Raptorville
Posts: 44374
Baltimore Orioles closer Zach Britton, who failed to blow a save all season, and Los Angeles Dodgers fire-baller Kenley Jansen have been named the 2016 Relievers of the Year in their respective leagues, Major League Baseball announced Saturday.

Britton received the Mariano Rivera Award for his dominance in the American League, while Jansen took home the Trevor Hoffman Award for his brilliance in the NL. The awards were presented by Rivera, Hoffman, and commissioner Rob Manfred prior to Game 4 of the World Series in Chicago.

The 28-year-old takes home the award after a dominant and historic season closing games in Baltimore. Britton finished his season with a 0.54 ERA, the lowest single-season mark by a reliever ever, while going a perfect 47-for-47 in save opportunities. Despite being a one-inning reliever, he's considered to be a top candidate for the AL Cy Young Award.

"I think it's a credit to the teammates around me," Britton said, according to Eduardo A. Encina of the Baltimore Sun. "Obviously, you're only as good as the guys behind you on the field. (With) me relying on ground balls, obviously we have a great defense back there, so a lot of the credit goes to the teammates (for) putting me in situations to be successful too."

Jansen had a stellar season of his own in Los Angeles, helping the Dodgers to a fourth consecutive division title by posting career bests in saves (47), ERA (1.83), and WHIP (0.670). The free-agent-to-be also struck out over 100 batters for the third time in his career.

The Rivera and Hoffman Awards were established in 2014, taking over from the Delivery Man of the Year that existed from 2005-13. Winners are determined by a panel of nine iconic relief pitchers: Rivera, Hoffman, Lee Smith, John Franco, Billy Wagner, and Hall of Famers Dennis Eckersley, Rollie Fingers, Bruce Sutter, and Rich "Goose" Gossage.

MLB awarded the Rolaids Relief Man Award to the top reliever in each league from 1976-2012.