View single post by mike3775
 Posted: Wed Oct 3rd, 2012 07:28 pm
PM Quote Reply Full Topic

Joined: Mon Oct 15th, 2007
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 17574
CanadianHorseman wrote: I don't think this has been mentiioned yet but let's not forget that Ted Williams won the Triple Crown twice ( 1942 and 1947 ) and didn't win the AL MVP either year.


Joe Gordon - NY Yankees ( 270 MVP voting points )
Ted Williams - Boston Red Sox ( 249 MVP voting points )

Williams scored 53 more runs, had 13 more hits, had 18 more HRs, had 34 more RBI and outhit Gordon .356 to .322

I'm guessing the voters gave Gordon more votes as the Yankees won the AL Pennant by 9 games over Boston.


Joe DiMaggio - NY Yankees ( 202 MVP voting points )
Ted Williams - Boston Red Sox ( 201 MVP voting points )

Williams scored 28 more runs, had 13 more hits, had 12 more HRs, had 17 more RBI and outhit DiMaggio .343 to .315

Once again the voters must have given winning the AL Pennant a lot of credence as Boston finished in 3rd place 14 games behind the Yankees.

One other thing to keep in mind - the last 3 Triple Crown winners ( Mickey Mantle in 1956, Frank Robinson in 1966 and Carl Yastrezemski in 1967 ) all won the AL MVP award the same year.
To be fair though, in the early 1940's, there wasn't much emphasis put on the triple crown.  It wasn't until the mid 1940's that writers and the media started to hype the triple crown.

Plus they always place a higher emphasis on teams making the playoffs over anything else.  Not many MVP's do not make the playoffs with that award